Phi Alpha Theta
Home Overview Faculty News Curriculum History Club Alumni Job/Internship Opportunities
Phi Alpha Theta Public Lectures
Career Options Clio Award Advising Guide Links


Alpha-Kappa-Sigma Installation Ceremony, April 2003

2005 Inductees:  At a ceremony on March 1, 2005, 13 new members were inducted into Messiah College's Alpha-Kappa-Sigma Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta.  They were: Phil Bess, Justin Bollinger, Cheryl Cliver, Heidi Dunkle, Krystal Egleseder, David Gilbert, May Harmer, Rachel Heeter, Kelly Knight, Angela Lohman, Corrine Major, Kelsey Spencer, and Shawn Truppo.

On April 4, 2003, sixteen history majors were inducted into the Alpha-Kappa-Sigma Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, one of the oldest national honor societies in America.  Phi Alpha Theta is "a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians." The society seeks "to bring students, teachers and writers of history together for intellectual and social exchanges, which promote and assist historical research and publication by its members in a variety of ways." (Phi Alpha Theta Mission statement). Founded at the University of Arkansas in 1921, there are currently over 850 active Phi Alpha Theta chapters throughout the United States, with over 270,000 initiates.

Requirements for membership:  Students considering membership in Alpha-Kappa-Sigma, the Messiah College chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, must be a history major or minor, have taken at least four history courses, and have a 3.5 cumulative GPA.  The next initiation ceremony will be in the Fall of 2003.  Students interested in applying for membership in Alpha-Kappa-Sigma should contact the chapter advisor, Professor Norman Wilson.

*For further information on Phi Alpha Theta, please check out there national web page.

Dean Joseph Huffman with newly inducted members of Alpha Kappa Sigma

Current Members of Alpha Kappa Sigma:

Laura Dody (Spring 2003)
Jeffrey Erbig (Spring 2003)
Megan Giordano (Spring 2003)
Sharon Hopper (Spring 2003)
Megan Jones (Spring 2003)
Wayne Kantz (Spring 2003)
Timothy Klein (Spring 2003)
Janet Kraft (Spring 2003)
Lisanne Roth (Spring 2003)
Myron Sauder (Spring 2003)
Meghan Sears (Spring 2003)
Kevin Schneider (Spring 2003)
Derek Stanton (Spring 2003)
Nathan Tillman (Spring 2003)
Vanessa Walters (Spring 2003)
Brian Womer (Spring 2003)

CLASS OF 2005:
Philip Bess
Justin Bollinger

Cheryl Cliver
Heidi Dunkle
Krystal Egleseder
David Gilbert
May Harmer
Rachel Heeter
Kelly Knight
Angela Lohman
Corrine Major
Kelsey Spencer
Shawn Truppo