Click here to return to Messiah College's homepage
The Agapé Center for Service and Learning

The Barnabas Award

The Barnabas Servant Leadership Award is named for Barnabas, who was a servanWheel-Thrown Basint leader selling land in Cyprus to buy food for the post-Pentecost crowned in Jerusalem. Barnabas recruited Paul for ministry, worked with Paul as a missionary, mentored John Mark, and led a multicultural pastoral team in Antioch. The name Barnabas means “son of encouragement.” The award, in association with the Barney II and Moore Foundations, takes his name as it serves as an effective instrument to the entire educational community by promoting the ideals of service that substantially benefits others. Wheel-thrown basins are given out each year to each recipient of the Barnabas Award. 


The awards are made available by the Agape Center and will be given to one current senior and one current employee at Messiah College.


Recent Recipients


2014 Student Recipient: Tetyana Pyatovolenko, Music Performance '14




Cellist Tetyana Pyatovolenko is a senior music performance major at Messiah, where she studies with Fiona Thompson, and is a recipient of a Daniel Vollmer Scholarship in the Arts.


In March, Tatyana organized a benefit concert to aid the Amani Children's Foundation.  The goal of the Amani Benefit Concert was to support caregivers in Kenya, and also to show the Messiah community that music is a power tool which can change thousands of lives.  This concert gave Tatyana the opportunity to encourage her music major peers to think of ways to use their gifts in music to serve others.





2014 Employee Recipient: Jean Corey, Director of the Center for Public Humanities and Associate Professor of English




Dr. Corey is the Director of the Center for Public Humanities and Associate Professor of English.  She teaches many of her courses as service learning courses.  Along with Professor Helen Walker she has been responsible for developing the Amani Beads program, a project in which Messiah College students partner with community leaders and students to create Amani jewelry from ceramic beads made in Kenya.  One hundred percent of their profits go to care for babies at New Life Home in Kenya.  As director of the Center for the Public Humanities, Jean has worked to further its public mission by connecting CPH programming to the Downey School and the Together for Tomorrow project.  In the fall she will be launching a new Humanities Fellows program that will connect Humanities students to meaningful public projects in the Harrisburg Area.







Each year, we ask for nominations of individuals who have demonstrated significant contributions in the areas of ministry, community service, and leadership. The community service that the Barnabas Award seeks to reward is unpaid service that is done off-campus through community partners. The following factors will be given priority in selecting the recipient.

  • The level of spiritual maturity and commitment to ministry and community service.
  • The ability to integrate her/his ministry and community service with other aspects of her/his life and work including academic work, faith perspectives and sense of vocation.
  • The impact of the ministry and community service on the community in which she/he served and her/his ability to effectively work with and respect persons with whom she/he worked.

The finalists will be asked for additional information. Please inform the person that you are nominating them.


To nominate a student or employee, click HERE and create an account & password or log-in using your existing login information and select “Create Project”. Under the title Awards, select Barnabas Award.


The last day for nominations is March 10, 2014.