Faculty

The Department is able to offer an excellent arts education due in large part to its talented & dedicated faculty & staff who are working artists & scholars. We have 9 full time faculty members, an arts technician and a gallery director. We also have between two and four adjunct faculty teaching with us each year.


Susanna Bede Caroselli

Susanna Bede Caroselli

Professor of Art History
scarosel@messiah.edu

Susanna Bede Caroselli, professor of art history at Messiah College, graduated from Brown University and received a Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University. She has been a member of the curatorial and editorial staffs at the Frick Collection (NY), Detroit Institute of Arts, and Los Angeles County Museum and teaches art history.


Daniel Finch

Daniel Finch

Associate Professor
dfinch@messiah.edu

BFA Augusta state University, MFA The University of Georgia, teaches painting & drawing.  Read More


Christine A. Forsythe

Christine A. Forsythe

Professor, Chair of the department
cforsyth@messiah.edu

Christine A. Forsythe, Professor of Art, has been teaching ceramics and textiles courses at Messiah College since 1982. She earned an BA in studio art from Indiana University of Pennsylvania with an emphasis in textiles and an MFA from the School for American Craft Rochester Institute of Technology in weaving and textiles.  She teaches
ceramics, textiles paper & book making.


Donald J. Forsythe

Donald J. Forsythe

Professor
dforsyth@messiah.edu

BS Indiana University of PA, MFA Rochester Institute of Technology, teaches photography & printmaking.  Read more


Brenton E. Good

Brenton E. Good

Lecturer
bgood@messiah.edu

BA Messiah College, MFA University of Dallas, teaches
art history and foundation courses.  Read more


Kathy T. Hettinga

Kathy T. Hettinga

Professor
hettinga@messiah.edu

BFA Calvin College, MFA Colorado State University, teaches digital design & computer art.


David E. Kasparek

David E. Kasparek

Associate Professor
dkaspare@messiah.edu

BA Seton Hill College, MGD North Carolina State University, teaches digital design & multi medi.


Sean Matthews

Sean Matthews

Assistant Professor
smatthews@messiah.edu

BFA Appalachian State University, MFA Towson University, teaches sculpture, furniture


Andrew Bale

Andrew Bale

Art Technician
abale@messiah.edu

BFA Savannah College of Art & Design, MFA University of Delaware, works as an Art Technician and teaches photography.


Dr Gene Vandyke

Professor of Art Education
gvandyke@messiah.edu

B.S. from Penn State University, M.S. from Miami University of Ohio, Ed. D. from Temple University.  Dr. Vandyke teaches all the art ed course for both graduate & undergraduate program.


Sherron Biddle

Gallery director
sbiddle@messiah.edu