the Novell Application Launcher (NAL)
Messiah College uses
Novell's Application Launcher to make network applications available to
PCs on campus. The Application Launcher allows users to keep up to date
when the latest software patch, upgrade or release is available. This
page will attempt to inform the NAL user of some features they can control.
There are two
possible window views you can use in NAL. You can control which
view you see each time NAL is launched by selecting your preference
from the "View" menu item...
which is the application's default, is the "Folder" view (top left
It is also
possible to turn off the folder view and see only the application
icons (lower left image).
have the option of changing the appearance of the icons in your
It is also
possible to view the contents of a specific folder. This can be
useful if you use a particular type of application and do not wish
to see all the applications which are available in NAL.
The first time
you select any of the applications, you will be asked to confirm
whether you want to install the application. Typically, you do!
Be sure to close all other Windows applications prior to installing
any application. This may require you to respond "No" so you can
close other applications. You can then return to NAL and start the
installation procedure again.
If you choose
to install the application and you have closed all other Windows
applications, an installation progress screen will appear. Depending
on the size of the application and the speed of your computer, it
could take several minutes to completely install an application.
after you have installed an application you will need to reboot
your PC to complete the set up.
After the new
application has been installed, you will be able to click on its
icon in NAL and launch the application.
may encounter difficulties with one of your NAL applications or
a patch or upgrade will be made available by Network Services. In
such instances, you can "Verify" your application to begin "reinstalling" the application.
verifying an application will restore lost or damaged files the
application needs in order to function (although not in every case).
Please be aware
that verifying an application will typically reset the application
to its default configuration. In other words, if you have changed
an application's default folder for saving files, for example, the
O: drive, you
will need to go back into the application after you have verified
it and change your folder settings accordingly.