History Club

The History Club at Messiah University is a student-run organization open to all Messiah students (history majors and non-history majors) interested in exploring the past.  Our History Club Constitution is available here as a PDF. 

For History Club Events, visit the History Club Facebook page.

Follow us on Instagram


  • To raise the level of historical awareness on the Messiah University campus.
  • To encourage scholarship and continued study in the field of history.
  • To understand and explore the presence of God throughout time and in our discipline.
  • To cultivate an enjoyment of the past among students, in and out of the major.
  • To build community among students and faculty.

Goals and Objectives:

  • To explore the many and diverse historical sites, parks, battlefields and museums surrounding Messiah University.
  • To host guest lectures.
  • To evaluate and discuss the historical accuracy and meaning of historic films and documentaries.
  • To provide students with valuable resources, advice and information on graduate programs and schools in which to continue study in the field of history.
  • To promote fellowship among students who share similar interests, goals and passions.
Erasmus Club in Fall 2017

An Erasmus Club meeting in fall 2017

Events and Activities:

The history club contributes to the following events and activities: 

  • Graduate School & Career Night (an interactive panel discussion with department faculty and history alumni)
  • Fall Welcome BBQ (an introduction of first year students and faculty to the History, Politics and International Relations department at the Lower Allen Township park)
  • Christmas Carol night (visits to faculty homes at end of fall semester)
  • Movie Nights (faculty directed discussion of movies and their historical representation and accuracy)
  • Field Trips (Washington D.C., Philadelphia, Fallingwater, etc..)
  • Spring Picnic (held in late April / early May)

Current Officers:

President: Keli Ganey

Social Media Manager:  


Past Officers:

2021-2022: Chloe Kauffman and Autumn Miller (co-presidents), Dylan Goss (treasurer), Social Media (Keli Ganey)

2021-2021: Chloe Kauffman (president), Dylan Goss (treasurer)

2019-2020: Chloe Kauffman and Kyra Yoder (co-presidents), Dylan Goss (treasurer), Keanan Wolf (secretary and social media manager)

2018-2019: Robin Schwarzmann, Sarah Wilson, and Kyra Yoder (co-presidents), Devon Hearn (treasurer), Rachel Williams (secretary)

2017-2018: Josh Carter and Sarah Wilson (co-presidents), Ben Baddorf (treasurer), Robin Schwarzmann (social media manager), Rachel Williams (secretary)

2016-2017: Kayla Rollins and Josh Carter (co-presidents), Rachel Williams and Sarah Wilson (secretary and treasurer)

2015-2016: Katy Kaslow and Kyle Polinka (co-presidents), Megan Ekstrom and Kayla Rollins (secretary and treasurer)

2014-2015: Beki Randolph and Katy Kaslow (co-presidents), Megan Ekstrom and Kyle Polinka (secretary and treasurer)

2013-2014: Brianna LaCasse and Eli Kane (co-presidents), Beki Randolph and Kathryn Kaslow (secretary and treasurer)

2012-2013:  Megan Keller and Eli Kane (co-presidents), Brianna LaCasse and Ashley King (secretary and treasurer)

2011-2012: Amanda Mylin and Katie Garland (co-presidents), Hillary Carter and Megan Keller (secretary and treasurer)

2010-2011: Elizabeth Coon and Christine Kelly (co-presidents), Katie Garland and Amanda Mylin (secretary and treasurer)

2009-2010: Caitlin Babcock and Courtney Weller (co-presidents), Christine Kelly and Elizabeth Coon (secretary and treasurer)

2008-2009: Michelle Bomboy and Lucy Vallana (co-presidents), Caitlin Babock and Courtney Weller (secretary and treasurer)

2007-2008: Mary Lee Shade (co-president)

2006-2007: Rachel Heeter and Mary Lee Shade (co-presidents)

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sarah Myers 

History Club Email: History Club