Marshall Scholarship

The Marshall Scholarships were established by the British Government in 1953 to express British gratitude for the European Recovery Program, instituted by General George C. Marshall in 1947. Marshall Scholarships are tenable for one to three years (usually two) for study at any university in the United Kingdom. At least 40 scholarships are offered annually.

The aims of the Marshall Scholarship are:

  • To enable intellectually distinguished young Americans, to study in the U.K. while gaining an understanding and appreciation of contemporary Britain
  • To contribute to the advancement of knowledge in their chosen field of study
  • To motivate scholars to act as ambassadors from the U.S. to the U.K. and vice versa throughout their lives


  • U.S. citizen at time of application
  • Bachelor’s degree by the start of the scholarship period (Applicants eligible up to three years after first undergraduate degree)
  • Minimum GPA of 3.7

Criteria for Selection:

Distinction of intellect and character as evidenced by scholarly attainments and by other activities and interests is a prime requisite. Candidates should be capable of playing an active role in the life of their UK university and have the potential to contribute later to their own society. Applicants must have a very clear idea of what and why they want to study in the U.K. and be able to describe in some detail why the program of study at a particular university is appropriate for them. Candidates are judged on the presentation of a specific and realistic academic program of study.