APPLY TO MESSIAH

Spring 2021 Links for Honors Events

All your links for spring 2021 Honors Events in one place!!

 

Spring 2021 Honors Events

 

“Matter + Spirit: A Chinese/American Exhibition.”

            January 21-February 21, Aughinbaugh Gallery.

Student-led book conversation on Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal.

            Friday, January 29, 4:30 p.m., Jordan 150.

American Scientific Affiliation symposium: “Scientific and Spiritual Lessons in the Time of COVID.”

            Saturday, January 30, noon, via livestream. See ASA website for details: asa3.org.

Seminar discussions on Books 17-20 of Homer’s Odyssey.  Boyer 131

                            Feb. 1, Monday, 4:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m.  SNOW CANCELLATION
     *new seminar Feb. 2, Tuesday, 3:15 p.m.-4:15 p.m., BOYER 237 reserve seat
                            Feb. 2, Tuesday, 4:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m., FULL change seat
     *new seminar Feb. 2, Tuesday, 7 p.m., livestream,  https://messiah.zoom.us/j/93218799630
                            Feb. 3  Wednesday, 4:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m., reserve seat
                            Feb. 3, Wednesday, 7 p.m.- 8 p.m. reserve seat
                            Feb. 4, Thursday, 4:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m., FULL change seat
                            Feb. 4, Thursday, 7 p.m., livestream, https://messiah.zoom.us/j/93218799630
                            Feb. 5, Friday, 4:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m., reserve seat

Information session on senior projects.

            Monday, February 8, 4:30 p.m., Boyer 131.                              

“What is the origin of evil?” lecture by David Schenk.             

            Friday, February 12, 7:00 p.m., Parmer Hall.

Student-led book conversation on Mark Miodownik’s Stuff Matters.

            Tuesday, February 16, 4:30 p.m., Jordan Lounge.

Film: O Brother Where Art Thou?

            Friday, February 19, 7:30 p.m., Parmer Hall.

Student-led book conversation on Rosaria Butterfield’s The Gospel Comes with a House Key.

            Wednesday, February 24, 4:30 p.m., Boyer 131.

“Popular Myths about Science and Religion,” lecture by Michael Newton Keas.  https://video.messiah.edu/Watch/MichaelKeaslecture

            Thursday, February 25, 7:30 p.m., via livestream, https://messiah.zoom.us/j/94776105983 .

“Troubling the Narratives of a Democratic Nation: Whose Stories Are These?”
Humanities Symposium keynote lecture by Jacqueline Jones Royster.

            Thursday, March 4, 7:00 p.m., via livestream.

Talk-back panel on Humanities Symposium keynote lecture.

            Monday, March 8, 4:30 p.m., via livestream, https://messiah.zoom.us/j/94170761555.

“Virtual into the City International,” sponsored by the Career & Professional Development Center.

            March 8-12, via livestream.

Read-aloud favorite passages from The Odyssey, Books 21-24.

            Monday, March 15, 4:30 p.m., Boyer 131.

Student-led book conversation on David Eagleman’s The Brain: The Story of You.

            Wednesday, March 17, 4:30 p.m., Jordan Lounge.

Viewing of student-selected film on theme “International Films,” with reception following.

            Wednesday, March 24, 4 p.m.& 7:30 p.m., Hostetter Chapel, sign-ups coming soon.

Student-led book conversation on Marilynne Robinson’s Jack.

            Monday, March 29, 4:30 p.m., Boyer 131.

“Why I Read Homer to My Children,” lecture by Danielle Bennette Dukes.

            Tuesday, April 6, 8:00 p.m., Parmer Hall.

Student conference on The Odyssey.

            Wednesday, April 14, 4:30 p.m., Hostetter Chapel.

Student TED Talks.

            Fri., Apr. 16, time TBA, Parmer Cinema.